

Honorary membership of ICOMOS

Honorary membership shall be conferred by the General Assembly of ICOMOS, on the proposal of a National or International Scientific Committee, on individuals, members or not of ICOMOS, who have given distinguished services at the international level to the conservation of cultural heritage. Honorary Members are not subject to membership dues (Article 5-a-4 and 6-b of the ICOMOS Statutes).

Honorary membership has been conferred so far on 104 ICOMOS members, of which 12 have been conferred posthumously. For the complete list of ICOMOS Honorary Members, see below.

ICOMOS Honorary Members come from all over the world and represent 43 countries: Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, (former) Czechoslovakia, Czech Republic, Cuba, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, France, (former) GDR, Ghana, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, Italy, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Sweden, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, (former) USSR.

In accordance with Art 23 of the Rules of Procedure, nominations must be made by National or International Scientific Committees and should include the following information:

- a the name of the nominated individual
- b a brief presentation of the individual (maximum 3 lines)
- c the individual's curriculum vitae
- d a statement supporting the nomination, explaining the reasons for it and in particular how the nominee has given distinguished service at the international level to the conservation of cultural heritage (maximum 750 words in .doc format)

Nominations must be submitted in English and/or French, in electronic format, not less than six months before the opening of the General Assembly. Additional versions in Spanish are welcome.

The nominations will be assessed by the jury appointed by the Board to choose the recipient of the Piero Gazzola Prize. The jury will present its recommendations for the award of Honorary membership to the General Assembly.

Nominations should be sent to the International Secretariat at: <u>secretariat@icomos.org</u> by 25 February 2023.

ICOMOS

ICOMOS Honorary Members

1975/78

Mr Milton Lord - USA Mr Stanislaw Lorentz - Poland Mr Jan Zachwatowicz - Poland

1981

Mr Ernest A. Conally - USA Mr Guglielmo de Angelis d'Ossat - Italy Mr Vladimir Ivanov - USSR Mr Jean Sonnier – France

1987

Mr Emanuel Hruska – Czechoslovakia Mr René Pechère - Belgium Mr Alfred R. Schmid - Switzerland

1990

Mr M.D. Derscenyi - Hungary (posthumously) Sir Bernard Feilden - UK Mr H. Foramitti - Austria (posthumously) Mr M.W. Hansberger – GDR Ms Ann Webster Smith - USA

1993

Mr Géza Entz - Hungary (posthumously) Mr Jorge Gazaneo – Argentina Mr Alfred Majewski - Poland Mr Radu Popa - Roumania (posthumously) Mr Stephan Tschudi-Madsen - Norway

1996

Mr Cevat Erder - Turkey Mr Mladen Georgiev Mintchev – Bulgaria Mr Miklos Horler – Hungary Mr Dobroslav Libal -Czech Republic Mr Peyo Nikolov Berbenliev - Bulgaria Mr Richard Benjamin Nunoo - Ghana

1999

Mr Maurice Carbonnell - France Mr Olgierd Czerner - Poland Mr Hiroshi Daifuku - USA Ms Joan Domicelj - Australia Mr Jan Jessurun - the Netherlands Ms Maija Kairamo - Finland Mr Harald Langberg - Denmark Mr Paul Mylonas - Greece Mr Andras Roman - Hungary Mr Augusto da Silva Telles – Brazil

2003

Ms Rachelle Anguelova – Bulgaria Ms Marta Arjona Perez – Cuba Mr Yves Boiret – France Mr Henry Cleere – UK Mr Robertson Collins – USA (posthumously) Mr Jacques Dalibard – Canada Mr Carl Filip Mannerstrale – Sweden (posthumously) Mr Krzysztof Pawlowski – Poland Mr CL Temminck Groll – the Netherlands Mr Mihaly Zador – Hungary (posthumously)

2005

Mr Sherban Cantacuzino - UK Mr Alberto González Pozo – Mexico

- Mr Varazdat Harutiunyan Armenia
- Mr Nobuo Ito Japan
- Mr Vassos Karageorghis Cyprus
- Mr Todor Krestev Bulgaria

Mr Victor Armando Pimentel Gurmendi - Peru

Ms Sharon Sullivan – Australia

Ms Blanche Weicherding-Goergen – Luxemburg

2008

Mr Juan-Benito Artigas Hernandez -Mexico Mr Cyro Correa Lyra - Brazil Mr Hernan Crespo Toral – Ecuador (posthumously) Mr Tamas Fejerdy - Hungary Mr Jonas Glemza - Lithuania Mr Zahi Hawass - Egypt Ms Birgitta Hoberg - Sweden Mr Michel Jantzen - France Mr Gilles Nourissier - France (posthumously) Mr Kiyotari Tsuboi – Japan

2011

Mr Juan Bassegoda Nonell - Spain Mr Carlos Flores Marini - Mexico Mr Alvaro Gomez-Ferrer Bayo - Spain Mr Ove Hidemark - Sweden Mr James Semple Kerr - Australia Mr Masaru Maeno - Japan Mr Nicolas Moutsopoulos - Greece Mr Henrique Oswaldo de Andrade - Brasil Mr Paul Philippot - Belgium Mr Mario Federico Roggero - Italy Mr Gabor Winkler – Hungary

2014

Ms Kristal Buckley - Australia Mr Jukka Jokilehto - Finland Mr William J. Murtagh – USA Mr Eugenio Pérez Montás - Dominican Republic Ms Angela Rojas - Cuba Mr Carlos Scheltema - The Netherlands Mr Giora Solar - Israel Mr Augusto Villalon - Philippines Mr Zsolt Visy - Hungary Mr Dionysis Zivas - Greece Mr Roberto Di Stefano - Italy (posthumously) Mr Herb Stovel - Canada (posthumously)

ICOMOS

GA 2023 – Honorary Membership Ver. 18/01/2023

2017

Mr Salvador Aceves Garcia - Mexico Mr Mário Mendonça de Oliveira - Brazil Ms Blanca Estela Niño Norton - Guatemala Mr Leelananda Prematilleke - Sri Lanka Ms Isabel Rigol Savio - Cuba Mr Leo van Nispen tot Sevenaer - Netherlands (posthumously) 2020

Mr Dinu Bumbaru - Canada Ms Sheridan Burke - Australia Ms Marie-Jeanne Geerts - Belgium Mr Andries Van den Abeele - Belgium Mr Janis Krastins - Latvia Ms Jane Lennon - Australia Mr Esteban Prieto Vicioso - Dominican Republic Mr Julian Smith - Canada Mr Henk van Schaik - The Netherlands Mr Peter Waldhäusl - Austria